top of page
Search
  • Charlotte Ross

(21-23/10) Final Build

Updated: Oct 25, 2020

I made three separate fabric bottles, and two paper bottle, one heavy construction paper, one lighter.

The final I chose for displaying is mostly down to the amount of detail I was able to get on it. Also the stitched seams that only had the blanket stitch without the running stitch to keep it tight and only visible though the translucent fabric, were more effective then i had originally anticipated. As when you view it without physical interaction you register it as a solid bottle. But the visible stitches along with the rumpled surface contribute to seeing it as fabric.

Adding the hairspray lends it a stiffness so that the details are visible without making passes around it, which is important when exhibiting digitally.


I settled on the running stitch, drawn tighter then usual, after some trial and error. As the fabric and thread is much finer then materials I am used to working with this style of stitch allowed more of an anchoring due to the thread back through.















Test bottle recording.— the video is available on my portfolio page.


How digital presentation effected the end product and what I would have done differently if it were an in person exhibition

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page